Week 6 – Player Stories

Student name: Joshua Crowley

Student number: n9719024

High Game Concept

In Phone Chaos, the player takes control of a person who is briskly walking his way to work from home, where they must navigate amongst various obstacles and suffers from MAD (Mobile Addiction Disorder). The player is late to work, so the objective of the game is to get to work on time within a set time limit, whilst addressing their phone addiction by staring at it to get points.  Hazards in the game world such as dogs and their poop, fire hydrants, and joggers require the player to look up from their phone to observe the environment around them, which stops points from accruing. If the player bumps or walks onto a hazard, they will be hindered in various ways such as slowing of player movement, or deducting points.

Player Stories

As the player, I want to avoid the various obstacles along my path to reach the goal.

As the player, I need to pay attention to my mobile phone in order to attain points.

As the player, I want to reach the goal as fast as possible, to record the best score.

As the player, I want to avoid the grassy sections along my path to work or else it will slow me down.

As the player, I want to avoid being run over by a vehicle, or else my character will lose valuable time and points.

As the player, I need to look up from my phone as least as possible to attain the most points.

As the player, I need to use my character’s peripheral vision in order to navigate around the environment.

As the player, I hope to be able to use audible cues in the game world in order to avoid incoming objects and entities.

As the player, I want to take the most time efficient path on the way to my goal, to record the quickest time possible.

As the player, I want to avoid the neighbours in my character’s neighbourhood, such as those mowing their grass, or else my character will trip up and lose points and time.

Leave a Reply

