Reflection Cycle 2 Jack Hendy

Student Number: n9066845

Student Name: Jack Hendy

Professional Development and Practice

Having worked with unity in the first four weeks my confidence in my ability to produce a game has increased and I felt this assignment was a good opportunity to demonstrate those abilities. It was very helpful that we were provided with the FPS controller object as well as it served as a perfect tester for the prototype of our game. Developing the game was simple once we had gone through the process before. The hard part was just doing the work. The activities were the same to the last cycle and did not vary in content at all. This was good as it was familiar work. This subject and cycle has helped me realise my ability and has given me more confidence in myself. I now know what I can do.

Working in a team

Working in a team again this cycle was not a problem as everyone knew what they needed to do. We divided up the tasks and brainstormed our game. Then we worked together tweaking the final product and sorting out mechanics. I believe we worked well given the requirements. I still feel like the teams are not necessary or at least not for every cycle. I understand though that if that were so then the students would have more work to do each week regarding the activities. However, maybe then the activities could be spread throughout the semester. It was interesting working with my team on this project and helping them out when they needed it.

Working Independently

I found the whole process very enjoyable especially completing the 4 tutorial videos on blackboard. The process of actually programming a small game did not actually feel like work it felt like I was creating something for myself. This mindset made me work harder and allowed me to focus more on the important aspects of the development process. Seeing your own project come to life was very satisfying. I believe I worked very effectively, incorporating each activity into the game and designing an interesting shooting mechanic. My prior knowledge of game design and C# programming were vital in me being motivated enough to complete the tasks. If I did not know these things I feel like I would have been crushed under the amount of work.

Ethical Considerations

The personal impact that this game will have on me is it will further flesh out my portfolio, giving another example of the work I am capable of. It will serve as a reminder of where I started and how far I’ve come. I will be posting the game on my own personal portfolio wordpress where it will also be available. I’m doing this to increase the size of my portfolio and give myself an idea of what I can do in a given amount of time. It will be useful for me in the future.

